Catching Up

I feel like I’m saying this all the time, but the blog sure has been quiet lately, hasn’t it?  If you follow THPL on Facebook you already know that in the beginning of February I was taken by surprise and asked to become an Adoption Counselor for the Jacksonville Humane Society.  Quite flattering and super exciting!  The only downside?  I have decided, for now at least, to keep my current boring desk job.  Between the two I’ve been working a lot of hours each week (like, more than double what I was previously), hence the neglected blog.  But I L.O.V.E what I do at the Humane Society, which means it doesn’t feel like “work” at all, and quite frankly I have the greatest husband and dogs, so for now it works.  Stay tuned for some lessons I have already learned in the short time I’ve been working there!

Hiking

You might remember this post where I shared my excitement over deploying with the HSUS to be part of the #367 rescue.  I was adamant that I would go into the week remembering that they don’t need my tears, they needed my strength.  Despite thinking I was pretty well prepared for the experience I still had a hard time, at times.  There were major highs and in particular one major low; it was an emotional roller coaster.  I promise to go into more detail later but for now I will say that the majority of those dogs have it better than most shelter dogs do.  There were some things I didn’t agree with, but in general I felt like the HSUS was fighting for the dogs’ futures.  In fact, one of the highs was when seven dogs got to leave and go start their lives in foster homes.  Talk about thrilling!

Foster Puppy

With all the excitement/lack of free time, I have neglected to mention one very exciting piece of news: I have a new foster!  Okay, okay so that’s not exactly true.  But I have secured the first foster home in Jacksonville for Last Hope Rescue, and the first foster dog arrived a couple of weeks ago.  Bootsie is her name, being adorable is her game.  The foster mom is a good friend of my brother’s (see this post for how freaking awesome he is) so he is constantly over there helping her with the ins and outs of parenting a puppy.  I’m not sure if  Bootsie is just really super duper smart or if my brother is just that awesome at training, but either way, Bootsie is pretty much the perfect puppy.  She absolutely adores other dogs and has become quite the little hiking buddy (see: pictures throughout this post) and as far as I can tell, her only flaw is that she still needs some help in the loose-leash walking department.  If you happen to know anyone in the Florida area that is looking for a perfect little Lab type puppy, please do share this post with them!  I’d love for her to be adopted while she still has a little puppy breath left.

Foster Puppy

There.  I think I have managed to briefly catch up on things here at THPL.  Since today is my one day a week off, and my dogs are giving me majorly pathetic sad puppy eyes, I am off to take them on a much deserved romp in the woods!

3 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. Bootsie is so adorable! Love that face! Our neighbor has a black lab too and they are gorgeous dogs! As always, I always applaud the time you put into helping the dogs find a good home. That is awesome!

    Don’t forget that we are trying to raise donations over here for the APL to help animals find their forever home too, and if it was not for the APL’s efforts & good work that they do, we would have never been able to rescue our two dogs, Nikita and Bella. If anyone would like to make a donation and help us raise money, here is the donation link: http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/nikitaland/2014-doggy-dollars-kitty-kash Even a small donation of $5 goes a long way, as it all adds up for the good to help those who need our help! 🙂

  2. What a precious puppy! I’m sure she will find the perfect home in no time. Thanks for all that you do to support dogs in rescue and in foster homes!

  3. Pingback: Hey there. | Temporary Home, Permanent Love

Comments

