We Love: Love!

When Maggie came to me as a foster, Rich was out of town for the summer.  That means we had weeks of bonding under our belt before he was even in the picture.  To say that she disliked the sudden appearance of a man in the house would be the understatement of the century.  She was terrified of him.

Tag

Buddy

I’m pretty sure Rich loved Maggie even before he met her.  Every time we talked over the summer I was telling him all about her and how much she was blossoming.  You would think coming home to a dog quite opposite of the one I had been describing would be a turn off.  Instead, I think it made him love her even more.  Every time she growled at him he would turn around and ignore her per my instructions but he would also say, “It’s okay Maggie, I just want to love you.”  And his favorite line to recite to Maggie, “Love doesn’t divide, it multiples!”

Moo

Eventually the growling subsided and she slowly began to let him sit near her.  Then touch her.  And eventually full on cuddle.  It took almost a year, but finally she got excited and would initiate play with him when he got home from work.  A sight I honestly didn’t know if I would ever see and still makes my heart swell.  Now, Maggie can typically be found cuddled up with her dad; her favorite human in the house.  If not for Rich’s persistent love and devotion to little Maggie, she might never have turned the corner with men.  She still occasionally give a little growl at men she doesn’t know but I am quite pleased with her progress.  She may never run up to a strange man just to give him kisses, but I can live with that.  The most important thing is that Maggie has learned to love love.

FUR 006 edit-(ZF-1860-91697-1-001)

Happy Valentine’s Day from our pack to yours!

8 thoughts on “We Love: Love!

  1. This is so sweet! And it’s encouraging to me; Pyrrha is fearful of men as well, and I am thankful that Guion is so patient with her. Their relationship has improved, by slow degrees, and Eden’s happy-go-lucky presence has set a good example for Pyr. You are lucky to have such a patient man in your life, and Maggie’s life! Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. What a gorgeous pack you have. You and your husband are truly special human beings. Take it from me, I don’t say that to just anybody for I have seen so many bad things that many times my faith in humanity has vanished, but then I find out about people like you and your husband, and I tell myself, “There’s hope in this world.” One year. That is a long time. Bella, our first foster dog, seems to be fearful of everybody so little by little I am taking her to places where she can see, smell, and perhaps interact with people. Currently, she is going with me to an Obedience class and she is doing great. She’s only been with us for 5 weeks and the changes she’s made are just amazing, but she has a lot more to go. Thanks a million for all you and your husband do:-)

Comments

