Throw Back Thursday: Puppy Worms

(If you’re squeamish you may want to skip this post.)

This morning while getting ready for work I had a flashback to one of my fondest memories of my first foster, Dash.  He was around 16 weeks old (if I remember correctly) when I got him.  As anyone that’s cared for a young puppy knows, at this point, he should have been dewormed a couple of times.  Should have.  The shelter he came from does not provide medical care so this was never done.  Can you guess where this is headed?

Puppy

At his first vet visit I received the dewormer to give him.  Once home, I gave it to him and waited.  And waited a little more.  As soon as the sun was completely down and it was nice and pitch black out, Dash decided he was ready to go out and do his business.  He squatted down and starting doing his thing.  And then froze.  And then yelped a little.  And then began scooting his bottom on the ground while looking at me, his face a mask of sheer terror, seemingly saying, “Oh. My. Dog.  Whatishappeningtomeeeee?!?!”

Pupp

And that’s when I saw them.  Worms.  White, stringy, glowing-in-the-dark, worms.  Hanging out of his bottom.  No amount of straining on Dash’s part was going to get them out of his little body.  What’s a foster mom to do?  Well get her hands dirty of course.  No really, I got my hands dirty.  Dirrrr-ty.  With a resigned sigh I reached in there and starting pulling.  And they kept coming, and coming, and coming.  The string of them literally longer than my arm by the time I finished.

Foster Mom

Moral of the story?  Worms grow.  Deworm puppies as recommended by your veterinarian.  And of course, foster moms rock.  Have you ever gotten your hands dirty for one of your dogs or a foster?  Do share!

8 thoughts on “Throw Back Thursday: Puppy Worms

  1. My cat had worms from fleas, I had to pull a few out and clean her butt. And she was a long haired cat, who didn’t care for being handled. Fun fun. And I’m not squeamish, the hubby threw up a few times. Thankfully I couldn’t smell as my allergies leave my nose clogged 80% of the time. 🙂

  2. Dash is adorable! We all have to do what we have to for our pets, who else is going to do it. I am so squeamish with icky stuff (never could be a nurse) but have done my fair share of cleaning up throw up when it happens, poopie that gets stuck in butt hair, etc. My Sweetie had a cat that had cancer, spent the money on her operation, but the cancer still returned and I had to give her medicine every day which is not easy to do with a cat, but I did it. I would do anything for our dogs!

  3. Oh my gosh! What an awesome foster momma you are :). I’ve never dealt with the long, slimy worms that you have but 3 out of 4 of our fosters have came to us with a parasite or were sick. There was Giardia & Coccidia…neither of which are fun to deal with. Then there was also colitis. I’ve learned that metronidazole is my best friend…;)

Comments

