Buddy, my new Etsy model.

Recently I’ve been working on a little fundraising idea I had.  You see, rescue can quickly become a costly business.  For example, if I get the Humane Society here to agree to take a dog from a high kill shelter, they require a donation.  It costs them $50 to neuter a dog, so that is what I would donate.  Or maybe I really want to see a dog rescued but can’t find anywhere for it to go.  I might offer a rescue to help pay their vetting if they will agree to take the dog.  And then of course there is Last Hope Rescue which I am part of and working to branch out in the city I moved to, Jacksonville, FL.  It would feel great to have a little money that I had already raised if anything urgent came up, so I wouldn’t have to immediately dip into our personal money.  (Rich may or may not have been a little upset with me when he realized just how much I spent on rescue last year….whoops!)  So anyways, I’ve been working on way to make a little side money to help fund my rescue habit.

IMG_5111

With a brother that bartends and a friend that sells wine, I realized I have literally an infinite supply of free bottles.  I’ve always loved painting and have too many paint jars and samples lying around the house.  Combine the two and my idea to sell hand-painted bottles was born!  It keeps bottles out of landfills and it’s (hopefully) raising money for a good cause.  Maybe I’m biased but it seems like a good idea to me!

IMG_5125

So today I’ve been working on getting some pictures of my finished products.  Of course I broke my favorite lens earlier (seriously, I should be named Murphy because anything that can go wrong, will) and I was using the wrong kind of lens to get good detail of the bottles.  While it was frustrating because it wasn’t what I had in mind, it did lead to the idea of getting the dogs in the picture.  And wouldn’t you know it, Buddy stole the show!  It might be because we spent a couple of hours running around on trails this morning (I’m still sticking to my New Year’s Resolution, people!) and Buddy was pooped, but he was great at sitting still where I asked him to.  Of course there were too many bloopers to count, because the girls obviously needed to see what was going on, but that’s the fun part.  I didn’t really get what I needed for my shop, but what do you think, would you buy from an Etsy shop that snuck in a few cute pictures of dogs?  I think I would!

IMG_5107IMG_5074Buddy sure looks thrilled, doesn’t he?

16 thoughts on “Buddy, my new Etsy model.

  1. Yep, they always have to sniff what you are working on, don’t they! Cute idea, and I think it is a cute way to get your dog in the product photo shots! Do you have a link to your Etsy shop that we can all post on our blogs to help you?

    • You are so sweet! I need to get some more things listed…and I really need to get a better lens so the pictures are better, but as soon as it’s in decent shape I’ll share the link. Thank you!

      • I don’t have a logo (making logos is so NOT my forte) but I did just share the link on the blog’s FB page. It’s called HeartHounds. Let me know what you think! I know it still needs a lot of work, but it’s live!

      • I found your shop on Etsy! I have also created a new board on Pinterest called HeartHounds and have pinned all of your bottles to my board! I do have a suggestion… have you ever seen the airbrush craft that kids use? It hooks up to a paint container and the kids use it to airbrush onto shirts. I wonder if you could use this for your bottles? I will see if I can find the product.

    • Really?! I would be more than happy to make something “custom” for you! Give me a couple of days (I gotta get a new lens so you can actually see what the bottles look like) but then I’ll put a link up to the shop and you can see what some of it looks like then. Then just let me know exactly what colors, etc you want!

  2. Awww I love the idea! I would definitely buy something from someone who had their dog in the shot! Can’t wait for your store to be up and running! I love me some wine bottles…even if they are empty. 😉

  3. Pingback: (almost) Wordless Wednesday | Temporary Home, Permanent Love

  4. Congratulations on starting an etsy store. Your mission is so inspiring and I think your product line is really unique. Have you thought of selling some of your photographs of your dogs? Some people sell prints or just high-quality digital downloads. Best of luck.

Comments

