Help a Sister Out?

Oh my.  Based on some of the comments on my last post, I’m afraid I may have made it sound like I don’t intend to stay involved in rescue!  That my friends is about as far from the truth as Miley Cyrus is from becoming a nun.  It’s true, I will not be taking in any fosters in the foreseeable future, but there is SO much more to rescue than just fostering.  (Obviously fostering is an integral component though…please consider fostering if you haven’t already!)  Don’t believe me?  Read what my friend wrote here.  I have done and/or still do all the things she talks about, and even some other things she didn’t mention.  Rescues are a seriously complicated business!  It’s a constantly moving target.  A target that is also a gigantic jigsaw puzzle that you’re usually waiting to find the last pieces to.

Elliot

Plus, did you guys forget this announcement?!  Even though I’d love nothing more than to keep fostering, by branching out Last Hope I will potentially be able to help many, maaany more dogs than I would by fostering one at a time.  I’m excited!  But this leads me to the point of this post.  I need your help.  I know many of you that choose to take 5 minutes out of your day to read my little blog are also involved in dog rescue in one way or another.  I need your creative brains, experiences, and opinions!  I’m not having any luck in finding foster families here in Jacksonville, and until I do that, I can’t do anything else.

Joffy

I sent out an email to basically everyone I know announcing the plans and asking that they please forward the email along to anyone that might be interested in fostering.  There was also a flyer attached that I asked them to print and post around the offices, favorite coffee shops, etc.  (I offered to hand deliver flyers if they didn’t want to use their own paper and ink.)  So far I’ve gotten no response.  I think because I did this right before the holidays a lot of people may have disregarded it just because they had a lot going on.  So I’m going to send out another similar email in a week or so.  And I’ve also ordered cute pamphlets that I plan to distribute to vets office, pet stores, etc. all about fostering.  But that’s all I’ve got.  “Sales” is not my strong point and that’s basically what I need to be doing.  I need to sell the idea of fostering and get people, in a city where I just moved and basically know no one, excited and wanting to foster.  SOS!  I need help.  Ideas.  Suggestions.  How do I get complete strangers on board with fostering?  Brilliant Readers Of This Blog, help a sister out!  I would oh-so greatly appreciate any and all ideas you might have and be willing to share.  Thank you in advance!

Daddy

As if you haven’t seen enough of them lately, the pups in this post are some of the ones at the top of my priority list.  They are already part of Last Hope Rescue but for various reasons are living in a boarding facility, even though they are fabulous dogs.  I want to get them out but I need foster families to do that!  If one catches your eye or you would like more information about them, or becoming a foster, please email me at morganrivera518(at)gmail(dot)com.  Thanks!

18 thoughts on “Help a Sister Out?

  1. Morgan, have you thought about contacting a local PR firm who would be willing to donate time to put together a small campaign to help you gather fosters and otherwise advertise the new Last Hope Jax? I’m TERRIBLE at sales and marketing, too, which is why I think you should seek professional help. LOL. You know what I mean. I’d just cold-call people until you find someone who might donate their services. Or check with local shelters and rescues to see if they know of local PR firms who have already worked with animal rescues. Good luck, my dear!

    • Kym! You are brilliant. No I had not thought of this….even though it seems so obvious now. I knew asking for help would result in great ideas like this. Thank you!

      • I had one more thought, Morgan. Can you put together a short, hands-on-dog presentation about rescue dogs? I would have someone help you leverage it as a way for kids and families to get involved in responsible public service, also emphasize the therapy of dogs. Would work brilliantly in schools, day-cares, summer-camp programs. Flyers might get families involved and get foster homes. There’s a lot of evidence that bringing dogs into schools is a great benefit — showing how rewards-based training for dogs demonstrated to kids helps them resist drugs, study harder, etc.

        Now that I write more it seems like a huge endeavor. But man, it could really pay off.

      • Lol that’s one of my “big picture” ideas already. My “plan” is to start small, get a few foster families secured, and hopefully build a little but of a presence in Jacksonville. After that I want to focus mostly on outreach/education/spay and neuter services. My heart is with working w the kids. If we can teach them, we can make a huge long term difference.

  2. Sales is sooo not my strong point and I agree with Kym’s comment above to see if you can get some additional help in the form of donated services from a PR firm. In addition I’d see if local pets stores, dog training facilities, vet clinics and local shelters could put out some of your flyers.

  3. Could you try organizing an adoption event at a local pet store and having volunteers drive and handle dogs that are already in the rescue but are in boarding (like the ones in your photos)? That would get the dogs and the rescue more exposure, both for adoptions and for fostering. In my experience, when I volunteer at adoption events there are always a lot of people who come up to pet the dogs and say some variation of, “Oh, s/he is so sweet but I just can’t adopt another dog right now.” I always jump in at that point and say something like, “Oh I understand. Have you considered fostering? That way you wouldn’t be making a lifetime commitment to a dog and you wouldn’t be financially responsible for him/her, but you’d still be helping to save his/her life!” If someone visits the store during an event like that, typically having actual people and dogs standing there draws attention a lot more than just a stack of flyers.

    Also, have you already tried leveraging social media? I think most (not all) rescues don’t do enough with facebook.

    • Along those lines of the dogs in boarding, are there any local colleges? A lot allow rescues to do “rent a puppy” events on campus, especially during finals week and fostering could be advertised there. Or taking the boarding dogs on training walks on campus could be an opportunity to talk to students about faculty. Everyone at Clemson just smiled at Gambit and didn’t try to approach him as he passed, but I know that’s not the case everywhere. While college students are busy, the nature of many of their schedules allows them to pop back home a few times over the course of the day. They may be able to handle a temporary dog without the responsibility of vet bills even if they don’t have the long-term stability to adopt, as long as there’s a plan for what happens during breaks.

      • You know, as soon as I wrote this post I thought I probably needed to get over to the college and see how I could utilize them. Great minds!

    • I definitely agree with you (and do the same thing) about suggesting fostering. The hurdle I have to overcome is that I live in a city three hours away from the main rescue (hence me “branching” the rescue out) which makes adoption events/pack walk/similar things pretty much impossible. We do use FB but I completely agree – we knew to utilize it more! It’s a fairly untapped resource currently.

  4. Have you looked at working with the local shelters on finding foster homes? Our shelter in SC had a foster program, but they would still regularly post urgent dogs noting that Crossroads or another rescue could take them in if a foster stepped up. I believe they found a number that way. Could you call around to see which landlords/property managers are okay with their renters fostering and leave flyers with them? Renting can be a major hurdle for foster families and we’re fortunate to have a landlord who is very excited for us to foster and has forwarded on shelter/rescue ads to us. Maybe others would do the same.

  5. Remember my dear: When you are THE foster, you know who’s in your house and life is simple. When you start coordinating fosters, at any time, at any place, and it won’t matter what you’re doing, you will be expected to stop your life and take a foster someone else no longer wants. Start slow and few my dear. Trying to save the world ends up making you Crazy and Crabby. You can’t. So just save the part you are able to. Rest, reflect, ponder, pontificate, win PowerBall, establish a dog sanctuary on 200 acres, and be happy that you’ve done what you could.

    • Oh I’ve already come to that realization. The plan most certainly is to start small and probably stay that way. I’m much more interested in doing outreach/ spay and neuter so as to actually get to the root of the problem.

  6. ha ha and this is why I discovered your blog. I work in marketing/media/pr perhaps we should have a chat? I am willing to spit ball ideas with you. Send me an email lauranneblogATgmailDOTcom and we can see what we can do. If you want!

Comments

