You Don’t Know Until You Try!

Which is exactly what I told myself when I decided to try out fostering a kitten.  You see, Buddy lurves him some kittens.  Tag might give a little playful chase if one runs past her but she’s lived peacefully with them in the past.  And then there’s Maggie.  Who knows how she will react?

Growing up we always had a cat or two around and I’ve been missing that lately.  And even more so, I’ve been missing fostering.  So my solution to the two problems was to try out fostering a cat!  If it goes horribly awry I have the rescue to fall back on, and if it goes as well as I think it will, then I can become a regular foster again (albeit with a different species, but still, a life is a life people!)

Buddy 3

Buddy, with one of “his” cats. Photos of Daisie soon to come!

I found a little local cat rescue that I felt really good about and got in touch with them.  With the recent intake of multiple cats from a hoarding situation, they were quite thankful for my timing.  On Saturday morning my first little foster kitty, Daisie, arrived.  We stuck the dogs in our bedroom, which is on the opposite side of the house as the other rooms, and took her to “her” room which I had all set up.  We opened the crate and Daisie wouldn’t budge.  The poor girl was terrified!  It’s hard to blame her, she’s been through an awful lot: stray, to hoarding situation, to the rescue where she had to live in a crate in a garage until the could secure a foster, to my house…with loud dogs (even all the way on the other side of the house.)

For the most part on Saturday I left Daisie alone to settle in.  I did go in there and read aloud a couple of times (Game of Thrones in case you care) to help her get used to my presence.  Yesterday she was still very shy so I decided to sleep in “her” room in hopes that asleep I would be less of a threat and she might warm up more.  Boy was I right!  Around 2:00 a.m. she decided to have a dance party.  Okay, that’s not completely true, but Daisie was all sorts of frisky and playful and it was so sweet, even if it was in the middle of the night.  By morning she had decided she was scared of me again though, so it looks like I’ll be sleeping in there again.  Things we do for our fosters, right?

8 thoughts on “You Don’t Know Until You Try!

  1. What a great story and I wish you the best of luck. Most of the time, it just takes “time” for the dog or cat to trust YOU. They are in unfamiliar surroundings and need to feel comfortable, not to mention, they need to smell their scent in your home. I know what I went through when we brought Bella home to Nikita for the first time. It was rough, but they became best of friends.

    • She has a whole bedroom and I opened one of the closet doors so she can sneak in there if she wants extra privacy (I have a couple of pillows and blankets on the floor in there.) Do you think that’s enough? I’m not nearly as experienced with cats as I am with dogs!

  2. Pingback: (almost) Wordless Wednesday | Temporary Home, Permanent Love

Comments

