Happy Endings: Adopt a Senior Pet

One by One, they pass by my cage. Too old, too worn, too broken, no way. Way past his time, he can’t run and play. Then they shake their heads slowly and go on their way.

 A little old man, arthritic and sore, It seems I am not wanted anymore. I once had a home, I once had a bed, A place that was warm, and where I was fed.

 Now my muzzle is grey, and my eyes slowly fail. Who wants a dog so old and so frail? My family decided I didn’t belong, I got in their way, my attitude was wrong.

 Whatever excuse they made in their head, Can’t justify how they left me for dead. Now I sit in this cage, where day after day, The younger dogs get adopted and driven away.

 When I had almost come to the end of my rope, You saw my face, and I finally had hope. You saw thru the grey, and the legs bent with age, And felt I still had life beyond this cage.

 You took me home, gave me food and a bed, And shared your own pillow with my poor tired head. We snuggle and play, and you talk to me low, You love me so dearly, you want me to know.

 I may have lived most of my life with another, But you outshine them with a love so much stronger. And I promise to return all the love I can give, To you, my dear person, as long as I live.

 I may be with you for a week, or for years, We will share many smiles, you will no doubt shed tears. And when the time comes that God deems I must leave, I know you will cry and your heart, it will grieve.

 And when I arrive at the Bridge, all brand new, My thoughts and my heart will still be with you. And I will brag to all who will hear, Of the person who made my last days so dear

 -author unknown

Buddy

As most of you are probably aware, it’s “Adopt a Senior Pet” month.  I wanted to share this poem because I think it does a beautiful job of shedding light on the plight of senior dogs who have found themselves dumped in shelters.  Despite their graying muzzles, or failing eyes and ears, or slower trots, these are the dogs that are the most deserving of a happy ending, in my humble opinion.

Buddy

Stray dogs are usually picked up by animal control long before their snouts have a chance to turn gray.  This means that sad, older face you see staring through the bars, is very likely accustomed to living in a home.  He knows what it means to have a family, and regular meals, and a warm spot to lay.  And he now knows what it means to be abandoned by the family he devoted his life to loving.

IMG_4220

The fantastic Mr. and Mrs. and Nola Kisses recently adopted a senior gentleman and I think they are shining examples of the fact that “senior” dogs make wonderful family members and are full of life.  In fact, my own Buddy at roughly 9 years old, is now considered a “senior” dog.  His muzzle has always been white, but lately I have noticed just how much his brown spots have lightened, and the appearance of new, white, speckles that never used to exist.  Despite the color of his fur, he is still happy, energetic, and as goofy as the day I adopted him.

Buddy

To think that a dog could go his whole life, loving a family, and then be discarded at like yesterday’s rubbish, is one of the saddest things in the world to me.  To abandon a loved one is quite possibly the lowest of lows.  But to be the one that is able to give that dog a happy ending, well that would be the highest of highs.  “I may have lived most of my life with another, But you outshine them with a love so much stronger.  And I promise to return all the love I can give, To you, my dear person, as long as I live.”

Adopt a Senior Pet.  Give them the happy ending they so deserve.

Buddy

14 thoughts on “Happy Endings: Adopt a Senior Pet

  1. OK that made me cry… and it’s all true, the entire post. I look at Boomer and Dottie (both seniors at 10 and 8 years old) and think how different their lives could have been and hope they know that they are safe and will never find themselves in a shelter.

  2. That poem totally made me cry! It is so true. And I cannot believe Buddy is nine! He looks like he is no older than three 🙂 I just adopted a seven year old in March. She has completely stolen my heart and I cannot imagine life without her! Seniors are my favorite 🙂

    • It made me cry, too. And Buddy not only looks closer to three than nine, he acts that way, too! How wonderful of you to adopt a “senior” dog?! Once mine have all passed away, I plan to only adopt seniors. They just have so much more life, and are so much more deserving of that happy ending in my opinion.

  3. So, so sweet. We’ve notices that Tess (at almost 6) is getting a bit grey around the eyes – and we LOVE it! We accidentally adopted a puppy of 9 months when we got Ed, but were looking for a senior dog. We’re glad we have Ed in our lives, but the next will definitely be grey!

    • I’m in a similar boat. We kind of just “ended up with” each of the dogs in our lives and while I certainly don’t regret it for a second, I can guarantee the next dog I adopt WILL be a senior!

  4. Pingback: A Little Altruism Talk. | Temporary Home, Permanent Love

  5. Thanks so much for the shout out about Sarge! I am working on a post about him as we speak! We love him to death and while it is hard to not judge someone who can give up a pet after 13 years, we are so happy they did because now we have an amazing dog in our lives!

    • It’s really amazing that you have that attitude. To be honest, I’m not proud of it, be I really do judge people that dumb senior dogs at the shelter. Obviously in cases like you and Sarge, it has a happy ending, but it’s just so sad because I think you all are the exception rather than the rule 😦 But enough sad talk. We love you, and Sarge, and of course Nola!

      • I am no saint, that’s for sure. Sometimes I look at him and just get so angry he had to deal with that whole ordeal, but like you said, it had a happy ending. He definitely increased our soft spot for seniors, and whenever we see them in local shelters we do all we can to share and help them find people of their own!

  6. Pingback: Senior Dogs Deserve Homes Too! | Adventures of a Dog Mom

Comments

