A Happy Coincidence!

First a little disclaimer: this post is written by Rich, not Morgan, so apologies up front to anyone that clicked here expecting her (I’ll see if I can get her to post some extra pictures of the dogs to make up for it!).

Pit Bull

Earlier I had the pleasure of writing on the options available to someone preparing to take care of a pet in case anything untimely should happen. You can imagine my surprise when I was taking the Florida Bar Exam at the end of July and saw an essay question asking in part what options were available to someone that wanted to provide for her pregnant Labrador in case anything should happen to her. That seems like serendipity to me! Also in the essay the woman was more concerned with providing for her Labrador and her puppies than for her son (a sentiment that I’m afraid I might also share if faced with the same decision, after all a dog can’t support itself!  We all know I would never own a dog that was capable of getting pregnant, unless Morgan brought home one that already was, but you see the point is in caring for the dogs’ needs first and foremost.)

Labrador

What’s even more exciting about the appearance of this question on the exam is that generally states put topics on the bar that they want new attorneys to be versed in. Maybe this is an indication of more pet-friendly legislation in Florida in the coming years. In any event at least the more than three thousand people taking the exam last month either knew how to set up a trust for the care of a pet, or are kicking themselves for not knowing.

Pet Care

What do you think? Is this a sign of things to come in Florida, and possibly nationwide? What pet related legislation would you like to see? Tell us in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “A Happy Coincidence!

  1. I totally agree Rich. In the legal world you are seeing more and more “custody” battles over family pets, too. They are moving out of the chattel definition and maybe even morphing into something new. My huband and I have options in our will for our surviving dogs. We have no people children so the nieces and nephews have to share with our dogs!

  2. Maybe I just read a certain kind of news, but I’ve noticed legal efforts in different parts of the world to start bridging the gap between the way we treat animals versus humans. In India, they’ve banned captive dolphins. In American, we’re starting to try and make dog abusers face more serious sentencing. In certain communities, anyway.

    In my perfect world, all BSL would be replaced with spay and neuter legislation and a moratorium on breeding until shelters are empty. I know that sounds really harsh, but my heart is broken every day by great dogs in shelters being put to sleep, and if we can’t seem to educate the masses into making better choices, maybe we need rules and regulations instead.

    Thanks for the great blog, Rich, and happy lawyering! I am so happy for you and Morgan and the pack.

    • No shocker here, but I agree 110% on spaying and neutering and the moratorium on breeding. Sometimes it’s necessary to intervene by way of laws when the general public can’t seem to make responsible decisions. ESPECIALLY when the victims of poor decisions are the ones we should be protecting: our young and elderly, and our pets.

Comments

