Pit Sisters

Guess what?  So you know how I was talking about how bored I have been because I’m not busy?  Well, the group Pit Sisters, a Jacksonville rescue that pulls pits from the high kill shelters, has been putting me to work!

Pit Bull puppy

In addition to pulling the most at-risk dogs and adding them to their program they also team up with the shelters to help them when they are in a time of crisis.  Last week they committed to “holding” 7 dogs until next weekend when the shelter is having a major adoption event. These dogs would have been put down otherwise.  The Pit Sisters found a woman with a piece of land that was willing to house all of the dogs.  The problem was, she suffers from a serious illness and can’t actually care for the dogs herself.  The group put out a plea for volunteers so of course I jumped at the opportunity!  I’ve gone out there a couple of times to feed, walk, and just generally love on the dogs.

Deaf Puppy

If I wasn’t concerned Rich might leave me, I would have come home with this sweetie. He’s deaf but that does NOT slow him down! He is so stinkin’ cute and cuddly, I wanted him all to myself!

Deaf Puppu

He’s got the cutest pink nose, and is all white except for this unique little spot on his rear end. Just to die for!

In addition to that, I went to their adoption event yesterday and got to meet some of their dogs that are in foster care.  What an adorable group they are!  (They are the dogs featured throughout this post.)  I’ve now got a standing agreement with the ladies to come to their monthly adoption events and get pictures!  Yay!

Chocolate Lab Puppy

And of course, now that I finally am getting put to work a little, I find a job.  Starting tomorrow I will be Jacksonville’s newest accountant.  I know, it sounds thrilling, doesn’t it?  Oh well, I suppose crunching numbers for a few years isn’t such a bad thing.  It might just give me the experience (and definitely the savings!) to open my own rescue one day.  I suppose only time will tell though.

Pit Bull

If any of these adorable mugs are begging to be added to your family, please email sisters@pitsister.org or myself.  They are a fantastic group that does great work here in Jacksonville!

Bulldog Mix

This girl was a total ham. So silly and sweet!

Bulldog Mix

11 thoughts on “Pit Sisters

  1. OMG, all of them are simply adorable! I pinned every one of their photo’s onto Pinterest! I would have taken that one home too…the one with the pink nose! Adorable, simply adorable! 🙂

      • Do you know how to add a “Pinterest” button at the bottom of your posts? Look under “sharing” and you should find it there! Pinterest drives lots of traffic to my blog, so that is why I encourage others to write up posts, then pin their images to their Pinterest Boards, and let the traffic begin!

        Did you click on my Pinterest button on my sidebar? You should follow my Boards when you get the chance! 🙂

    • Isn’t he so handsome? I think deaf dogs are actually easier to train to because you are training them nonverbally – which is their natural form of communication. It’s us humans that have a hard time with it 🙂

  2. What incredible work they are doing and how fabulous of you to go and help out. Rich is so unique and gorgeous – I’d also have wanted to take him home. Congrats on the new job. Hope it all goes marvelously well.

Comments

