Dear Dust Bunny,

It’s not you, really, it’s me.  I know we just met and everything seemed great–but it’s not.  You sure are cute but looks just aren’t enough for me.  You’ve caused me hours of work already and that’s just not what I’m looking for right now.  I hope you understand.  

– Morgan

mutts

Ok, maybe that was silly, but I’m serious!  I L.O.V.E the fact that our house is all tile and hardwood but you know what I don’t love?  The black, white, and brown tumble weed-dust bunny-fuzzballs the size of a small cat that crop up every time I turn around.  Since the house is practically empty right now (furniture buying is quite a process… who knew?) it takes me what feels like an eternity to sweep my way around the house every day.  And if I don’t, I can actually see the hair everywhere, just hangin out like it’s no big deal.  My neat freak/borderline OCD personality is not cool with this.

So I’m curious, do any of you own a Rumba?  Or similar automatic vacuum thingy?  We were talking about getting one but they are quite pricey and I don’t want to spend money on it if it’s going to be an utter failure (that money could should be going towards furniture anyways!)  So, have any of my fellow animal lovers used them?  Tell me your dirty secrets.  Please.

11 thoughts on “Dear Dust Bunny,

  1. Welcome to the world of no carpeting! I have the same problem. I sweep and mop, and two seconds later there is a dust bunny! I don’t have a rumba, but my cousin does and she loves it!

  2. We’ve gone from calling them dust bunnies to fur bunnies to Boomer and Dottie bunnies… it’s a constant battle with dogs but so worth it. We just pick them up as we see them in addition to sweeping and vacuuming. I think a Rumba would be too much for Dottie to handle and Boomer would probably try to kill it.

  3. I try to vacuum regularly (we only have one 25-pound dog, so the shedding isn’t too excessive). I’d love to get a roomba if they were cheaper. Maybe one day 😉

  4. The thing that seems to work pretty well for us is spot-vacuuming every day with our handheld. We just grab the stuff that builds up in the corners on the hard floors, and then do the regular vacuuming more often. Maybe that would work for you all as well?

    • I’m thinking that’s the route we are going to go too. Those Rumba (Roomba?) things are seriously pricey! I was hoping to hear from an actual owner as to whether or not they are worth it, but for now, I’m going to just do what you do!

    • The advice to visit a janitor supply store is the best — we also have a restaurant-style mop and mop bucket that makes cleaning a lot of floors much easier.

  5. Years ago I bought a Dyson Animal…a big investment but definitely worth the money! Last year we went to hardwood floors in our living room and it’s just so easy to run the vacuum every day.

Comments

