Tuesdays are for hiking.

I feel like that should be a rule.  Who do we talk to about making it one?

IMG_3032This whole having-a-week-off-work-and-nothing-specific-to-do thing is sure making our dogs happy.  We were out the door, headed to beautiful Torreya State Park, by 8 am this morning.

IMG_2952

IMG_2946

IMG_2956After we got a ways down the trail and realized there wasn’t a soul in sight we let the girls off the leash so they could run free.  There was this huuuge ravine and I swear, it was like an amusement park ride for the dogs.  Maggie and Tag ran up and down and off the walls and up and down and…you get the picture.  I can honestly say it might be the happiest I have ever seen Maggie.  That dog is an acrobat!  She was in pure Heaven.

IMG_3028Buddy and Tag helped themselves to a sip of water from the Apalachicola river, but not Maggie!  She jumped right in and swam all around.  She is such a water lover, it never ceases to amaze me.

IMG_3013I have to take a second and brag: my girls are awesome.  Seriously, they barely veered off the path and the second I called their name they turned and came running right back.  Maggie was especially impressive and anytime she got more than about 20 yards in front of us she would stop, turn, and check in with us; waiting for the ok to continue further ahead.  Can you ask for anything more than that?!

IMG_3057So, even though there are a few wedding/move related things I need to get done this week, I foresee more adventures!  I could I resist when it means I get to look at cute boys like this:

IMG_3064

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays are for hiking.

  1. Free dogs in the wilderness are the best. We were in Yellowstone Park one very cold and lonely November, and let the dogs run free in a huge field of snow. Definitely in their top three times of happiness.

    Yagé is great off leash — she comes right back when called. Lola runs away faster when you call her…she doesn’t get much off-leash time. 😦

  2. Pingback: Here’s To Rich | Temporary Home, Permanent Love

Comments

