Raising vs. Managing II

After my post Raising vs. Managing I heard from the woman, “D”, that adopted Ace.  I always try to keep in touch with the owners of dogs I have helped and after reading the post she sent me a message.  Basically, Ace (you remember adorable Ace that I fought so hard for?) is a shining example of what I was talking about and she wanted to give me some updates on him.  It’s how they are managed, not raised, that counts.

Image 2

Ace in the slammer, right before I busted him out.

D is one of those kinds of people that I wish I could multiple over, and over, and then over (6 million times) again so I can take all the pits out of the shelters and into her and her clones’ homes.  She has always owned pit bulls and knows the breed, is great with training, is a firm believer in adoption, and an even bigger advocate for pit bulls.  She takes Ace a couple of times a week to daycare and she shared his “report card” with me.  See below:

photo-4

This is a dog that we can only assume endured rather severe abuse; he has acid burns down the length of his back.  I’m pretty sure that didn’t happen by accident.  Despite that, and God only knows what other abuse, look at the comments on his report card!  He is “super sweet”, “loves attention” (from strangers mind you!), and “Loves to play with other dogs almost as much as he loves giving hugs to the staff.”

photo-3

Now THIS is a happy grin.

Now, I attribute a lot of that to the fact that pit bulls are among some of the most forgiving dogs you can ever find, but I also believe that D played a huge part in this.  I can’t honestly remember but I think Ace was about two years old when she adopted him.  That means that she didn’t raise him, but she has been managing him.

Ace 3

I’d say this is a content pup.

Ace 2

Mardi Gras celebration at day care.

    In addition to daycare, Ace goes on pack walks with other pit bulls where he shows off his good manners.  The point I am making is, despite his completely unknown past, D is able to manage Ace and she has herself a wonderful dog.  While I certainly believe Ace is special, I firmly believe ALL dogs, if given a chance and properly managed, can be great dogs too.

Ace

I just wanted to share another real life example of how managing, not raising, is what counts.  Happy Thursday-Almost-Friday Everyone!

7 thoughts on “Raising vs. Managing II

  1. I have a problem with the “it’s how they were raised” statement, too. I don’t correct people who say this, because at least they are several steps above the “pit bulls are an inherently bad breed” stage, but…

    Dogs who are problem dogs are usually abused, neglected, and mistreated. This isn’t “raising” a dog. I think that the pitbull’s default setting is sweet, kind, loving, and cuddly.

    OMG, Ace is so beautiful. What a good boy!

  2. Well written. Kahlua and I agree with you – you can bring a dog out of his or her past with love, and training. Any dog. Breed does not matter, just the human matters. Patience goes a long way and dogs are very forgiving and very resilient. We humans often do not deserve the forgiveness they have, to offer. The least we can do is be patient, love them and train them.

  3. Kudos to you and the new mom:) Pit bulls are amazing dogs, and if the person or pet parent takes the time to do right by them, they are the sweetest thing ever.

Comments

