The Lost Dogs {Book Review}

Recently, there has been a lot of buzz about the fact that Michael Vick has apparently adopted a dog.  Do I think that this is okay?  No.  But do I know all of the facts?  No.  For this reason, and this reason alone, I am going to keep my opinions to myself on this subject.  Instead, I am going to propose an idea for everyone out there that is so upset about the most recent development with Vick:  What if we just stop talking about Michael Vick all together?

Everytime we talk about him, we are dragging up the past.  Can we change the past?  No.  It sucks, I hate that it happened, but it’s done.  Are we providing Vick with free publicity?  Yes.  Are we re-victimizing the dogs by doing this?  Yes.  Are we actually helping anyone by belaboring the past?  No.  Let’s take a lesson from Vick’s victims and just move on already.  Afterall, that’s what they did.

photo from Google Images

This brings me to my little book review.  If you have not already read The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick’s Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption by Jim Gorant I highly, highly, highly recommend that you do.  There is no denying that this book is a tear-jerker in the most extreme form; there were a couple of times that I would be crying so hard I would literally just have to put the book down and go to bed.  But if you can stick with it, you will see what I mean about the dogs moving on, and why we should too.

The Lost Dogs is written in a very unbiased manner.  If you are looking for a book that rants and raves and calls for Vick’s head to be served up on a platter, this isn’t the book for you.  But because of how unbiased the book is, you get to learn the facts, and the facts really do speak for themselves.  There was a lot of effort, by a lot of people, to not only catch Vick and break up the fighting ring but also bring him to justice.  These people, in my opinion, are the ones we really should be spending our time talking about.  Let’s praise the good, not continue dredging up the bad.

In the book you learn about the people that fought to keep the dogs alive and forced them to be viewed and evaluated as individuals.  These people are truly responible for saving their life because nearly everyone else involved was ready to have them all euthanized without a second thought.  They proved that these dogs were not the killing machines that people were so quick assume they were and instead they helped others to view the dogs as what they really were: victims.

photo from Google Images

The Lost Dogs also follows a handful of the dogs from the day they were rescued to where they are now.  I don’t want to give too much away, because you really should read the book, but almost every single one of the 51 dogs is now living a happy and comfortable life.  In fact, many are not only living with families, but also giving back to others.  There is one dog in particular, Jonny Justice, that I think has absolutely the coolest story ever.  Nope, I’m not going to tell you what he does, you have to find out for yourself!

I hope that no one thinks I am cold-hearted or don’t have a problem with what Vick did–I do.  I think it’s horrific that anyone, celebrity or not, finds it entertaining to watch dogs slowly and brutally kill each other.  They are taking one of the most beautiful traits of dogs (especially pit bulls), their loyalty, and turning it against them.  I just can’t wrap my brain around how anyone can find this anything less than revolting, much less entertaining.  But like I’ve been saying, read this book, and let’s learn from these dogs.  If they can move forward, how dare we not do the same?

 

4 thoughts on “The Lost Dogs {Book Review}

  1. The best thing I liked about this book is that it told part of the story from one of the dog’s perspective. That was fascinating and to this day, I look at my dogs sometimes and wonder what THEY are thinking.

  2. Pingback: Raising vs. Managing « Temporary Home, Permanent Love

Comments

