Sharing Your Home

I realized that lately I haven’t been talking a whole lot about fostering, and instead chattering on and on about Maggie (have I mentioned, she is available for adoption?!) so I thought I should change it up a little.  After all, this blog is suppose to be about fostering, not just who I am currently fostering.  So, I thought I would talk a little about what it is like sharing your home with a foster dog.

Buddy and Tag, on the lookout for a good adopter for Maggie, their current foster sister.

When I got Dash, it was a seamless transition bringing him into our home.  He was young enough that neither Buddy nor Tag had any issues with there being a new dog in the house.  With Maggie, things were a little different.  Because she was not only an adult, but also very skiddish, she made them nervous.  Here I talked about how I slowly integrated Maggie into my pack.  We took our time, did things right, and everything worked out perfect.

                                                            The three best friends.

If you make the decision to open your home to a foster dog, it is important to take into consideration how your own dogs will react.  Will they be excited to have a new play mate?  Will they be jealous that a new dog is getting your attention?  Will they be territorial or even aggressive because their domain is being invaded?  These are all important questions to ask yourself.  Yes, I want everyone to foster, but not at the expense of their dog.

                                                             Best buds.

So what’s it like once you get the foster dog in your home?  One word: Awesome!  The feeling of knowing that you are actively saving a dog’s life is beyond compare.  You get to watch the dog blossom before your eyes.  Plus, you get to brag to anyone that will listen about how you are saving a life.  Trust me, when people start getting excited about what you are doing, it is such a good feeling.  Sure there is a learning curve while you figure out each others schedules, routines, likes and dislikes, but isn’t that to be expected?

Your home will feel warmer, fuller, and more complete.  Giving back is so heartwarming.  Don’t deny yourself this opportunity.  If you have any questions at all about fostering, please comment and give me a chance to encourage you to make the life-altering decision to foster and save a life!

One thought on “Sharing Your Home

  1. Pingback: Temporary Home, Permanent Love

Comments

