A Pittie-ful Weekend

This has been one of those weekends that makes me love being involved in rescue stuff.  So many different things happened for the right reasons, with the right people, at the right time–all with the kind of outcome I love.

It started with an adoption on Friday night.  A sweet little dog named Ember needed to be taken to the home of a potential adopter for a weekend “trial” before she was officially adopted.  The family was incredibly sweet, had a beautiful home, a gigantic yard, and most of all was really excited to be getting her.  I picked Ember up after work on Friday and we drove out to Monticello where I spent some time getting to know the family and then left Ember.  The next day I received this picture from Ember’s new mom:

Wiggle wiggle wiggle!

Yay for sweet Ember!

Saturday morning Rich and I woke up and got right on the road.  We were headed to Chipley (where Dash came from!) to help with a transport to Tallahassee.  Rich was so excited and kept saying “It’s like an adventure, an adventure to save some lives!  It’s like we are real life super heros!”  How sweet is he?  After we finally found the place we started helping to load dogs up in the cars and finally got the two that we would be transporting.  One was a super duper cute little puppy, Dutchess, and the other was an older Cocker Spaniel named Precious because, well, she was!

Before we left I saw a dog that I was immediately drawn to.  I spent some time talking to him and fell in love.  His name was Ace and he wasn’t getting taken on this transport trip, no one wanted him, but before I left I promised him I would find him some people that would love him to pieces.  Just wait–this story doesn’t end here.

Soon after we left Dutchess fell asleep and Precious spent the ride snuggling as much as she could with Rich.  She was quite the little love.  We got to Tallahassee and met the next “leg” of the transport where Precious’s new owner also met us.  She was SO excited to be getting Precious and just kept thanking us for getting Precious to her.  She was already in love with her and it was the best feeling knowing that we helped unite them.  The little pup was headed farther down south to a rescue group.

Right after we had the dogs situated we raced back across town so that I could pick up Maggie.  We had a Pittie Party to attend!  I was so excited because the event was all about  positively promoting the pit bull breed which, as you might have already guessed, I’m all for!  It was great, there were lots of people, lots of dogs, and lots and lots of positive interactions!  Katelyn, the incredibly awesome and passionate pittie lover that organized the event put a lot of work into the event and it showed.  Her dog Jango was like the ambassador for the event and he was absolutely wonderful with all the dogs there, including Maggie who was very uncertain about the whole thing at first.

Maggie and Jango, fast friends thanks to Jango’s patience and good manners.

Jango was such a good boy and patiently waited and let Maggie approach him and check him out.  At first she didn’t like when the dogs approached her head on but after Jango let her “sniff him out” she seemed to realize that everyone was friends and even relaxed enough to play with some of the other dogs AND let some new people pet her.  It may seem insignificant but for Maggie to let a stranger pet her is a big step in the right direction; it’s a very big deal!

A new human friend for Maggie.

There were tons of beautiful dogs and many of them were pros at the agility course Katelyn set up for everyone.  Here are just a few:

Gucci sitting pretty for a treat.

Doogan running through the tunnel like a good boy.

Handsome Zeus.

Dakota contemplating the tunnel. He was more interested in getting loved on by everyone!

So, as you can see there were tons of beautiful dogs, all incredibly loved by their proud owners.  The next event is already scheduled and Maggie and I can’t wait to go!

A tired but very happy Maggie on the way home.

Sunday started with me determined to follow through on my promise to find Ace his very own human to love him.  I contacted a friend of my mom’s who I knew had a deep love for pits and, after losing her dog to cancer, was ready for a new one.  She is getting ready to move in to a new house next weekend so she wanted to wait until that was settled but I contacted her and told her about Ace anyways.  Turns out he sounded exactly like what she was looking for and she said “Let’s do it!  We want him!”  So, after making phone call after phone call, going back and forth on plans, and coordinating like crazy I was finally able to nail it all down.

Ace, he doesn’t know it but he is the luckiest dog alive right now.

Ace had been on doggie death row for a while but a compassionate lady at the shelter knew he was special and kept “shuffling around” and “losing” his paperwork to buy him another week here and another week there.  Because of this we were under a time crunch so I needed to get Ace out fast.  On Wednesday a volunteer is going to drive him to Tallahassee and leave him at our vet’s office where he will get checked out and microchipped.  After work I will be picking Ace up (I’m so excited!) and driving him to his new mom’s mom’s house–his grandma’s house if you will.  He will be staying there through the weekend so that his new mom can get settled in to her new house and he doesn’t have to be stressed with all of the moving.  By this time next week Ace will be in his new home where he will be loved like crazy.

I am completely in awe that I managed to make this happen at all, let alone so quickly.  Maybe it’s not in the grand scheme of my entire life, but this sure feels like my biggest accomplishment.  This has been one of the best weekends I have had in as long as I can remember.

5 thoughts on “A Pittie-ful Weekend

  1. Morgan you are a wonderful writer 🙂 And YAY that Ember got adopted! I ❤ Ember !! (She is Kember's sister,correct?) Also please could you point me to details on this next event ? I don't have a Pitbull (actually I do not know what my dog is comprised of except some Lab! haha!) But is it still okay to attend for the agility ? Also I have a friend who LOVES pitbulls and she does not have a dog – but would like to hang out with Pitbulls for sure!
    Please let me know – i will wait for a reply comment!

    • Hi Shalini! Thank you for the compliment, I don’t really think I all that good but I appreciate it! Ember’s new family is SO wonderful, she is quite the sweetie and yes, she is Kember’s sister. You are more than welcome to come to the next Pittie party – the more the merrier! And it’s really for all dogs, not just pits, but we are working really hard to positively showcase them since they always seem to have a bad rap. If you send me a friend request on FB I will send you an invite so that you can have all the details and then you can let your friend know as well! Thanks!

  2. There is something so rewarding and satisfying in knowing that you, yourself, were personally responsible for saving a life! No words can adequately describe that feeling. As part of a rescue group we have saved a lot of lives and it it is a great feeling. But when your individual role is more significant, it’s altogether something bigger. Morgan, as dedicated and as involved as you are, you will experience it many more times!

    • Jill, you are SO right. There really aren’t words to describe it. I looked at Ace and made him a promise. I knew I would do it but I had no idea it would happen so quickly and perfectly. Clearly there was a higher power involved! Thank you so much and I seriously can’t explain how happy I am that I found Last Hope and then of course all of you!

  3. Pingback: Exciting Stuff | Temporary Home, Permanent Love

Comments

