Beach Day

On Saturday Maggie had her first ever beach day.  I really didn’t know what to expect–she was either going to love it or she was going to hate it.

She LOVED it.

Apparently she was a fish in her past life. Marley, the cutie that looks almost like Maggie’s twin, Mason, the big stud, and Maggie spent the entire day running, playing keep away, chasing fish and crabs, and swimming.

I know that I have been slacking with this blog, and I promise to catch back up, but what was so amazing about Saturday was how well Maggie handled all the new experiences.  It’s hard to descibe but Maggie has been so dependent on my dogs that I was afraid taking her out alone was going to be more than she could handle.  I expected her to stay glued to my side and not venture off but I made the decision to do it anyway because Maggie has to start having new experiences and building confidence.

It could not have possibly gone any better.  She got along great with the other dogs and thoroughly enjoyed herself.  I can see a whole new dog in her.  A dog that isn’t so scared of new things.  A dog that has confidence in herself.  A dog that is HAPPY.

 Above are all of the pups, tuckered out after a long day of playing hard.  Just a week ago I never would have thought I would be writing a post like this one but it just goes to show you how resilient dogs are and how quickly love and patience can have an impact on them.

Photos are all from my amazing friend Stef S.  Thanks for being the best!

7 thoughts on “Beach Day

  1. Looks like a great time was had by all! Maggie is very lucky to have such a wonderful foster mom to help her adjust to normal LIFE!

  2. Seeing Maggie enjoying herself like that almost makes me cry! She is learning what it is like to be a happy dog and I am so thrilled for her! Morgan, thanks so much for giving her this opportunity even though you didn’t know what the outcome would be. You definitely did the right thing!

  3. Pingback: Progress is the name of our game. | Temporary Home, Permanent Love

Comments

