He’s Here!

Ok, ok, so really I’ve had him since Saturday the 14th but I’m trying to do this in order, remember?  So, I got the call from A, the founder of the rescue, that the puppy was getting into town and they were going to be bringing him to my house shortly.  He had been transported to Tallahassee from a “shelter” in a very small town about an hour away.  You noticed the “”‘s around the word shelter didn’t you?  Well that’s a story I’ll save for another day but for now let’s just say it isn’t a very nice place.

As A was nearing my house she called to give me a head’s up that the poor little guy was pretty scared and hadn’t handled the ride very well.  Originally we were planning on introducing him right away to my dogs but we decided that since he was already pretty shaken up we would let him have the day to settle in before introducing them.  Fortunately my awesome boyfriend Rich (who you will certainly hear tons about–he’s my biggest supporter and helper) stepped right up and said he would be happy to hangout with our dogs so that the new guy could have some quiet time to adjust and calm down.

Once A got to my house we brought the little puppy in and decided that the first order of business was a bath.  Because he was so scared from the ride, and had some of the usual worms that you can expect from most formerly stray or shelter dogs, he had quite an upset tummy and had had an accident on the ride over.  We wanted to get him cleaned up and also get rid of the fleas on him so he would feel better.

For those of you that don’t already know this: Dawn dish soap works wonders!  All you have to do is suds your dog up, let it sit for about 5 minutes, and all the fleas will be dead.  Seriously, stop wasting your money on those expensive flea treatments, I promise you, this works better!  Now, that it not to say you shouldn’t use the preventative stuff, because you most certainly should, this is just a great way to treat a problem that already exists.  And now that I have completely gotten sidetracked, let’s get back to the puppy.

So where were we?  Right, bath time.  Now that I had a clean, and obviously already happier puppy, A took off and left me and the little guy to get to know each other.  He was all tuckered out so we pretty much spent the rest of the day snuggling on the couch.  It was so obvious that he was relieved to be in a real home with someone to love on him.  This guy was already a love bug and super snuggler!

Comments

